I must confess that I did spend a fair amount of time fretting over my EtourandTravel Florida vacation purchase.  It really did sound like a good idea at the time.  The lovely lady on the phone really did convince me that it would be an amazing trip and oh such a fabulous deal.

Another thing I fretted about was who I was atually going to take this trip with.  Truth be known I had planned to “win” a trip for my friend and I from my local radio station.  Go ahead and laugh but I had convinced myself it was going to happen.  I had watched “The Secret” and I had set everything up for us to win.  Everything was in alignment, so therefore no reason for me not to win this trip.  I am sure it will come as no surprise to you that I did not win the all inclusive trip to Samana in the Dominican Republic.  I however was surprised.

If I had of won the DR trip, I would be taking the Florida trip with my husband.  This caused me a lot of fretting too as we have no desire to go to Florida or at least Orlando Florida.  Since I did not with the DR trip, I now had the choice of who I would go with.  Remember our funds for the Best Friend’s trip were limited, and no matter what this Florida vacation was most likely still going to be less expensive than an all inclusive trip anywhere!

 My friend and I spent an entire evening chatting over a bottle of wine as to how we could make this work.  I spent the first hour beating myself up for being so stupid as to get drawn into this in the first place.  I am usually smarter than this.  We decided that I should not beat myself up any more as it was already done. 

More fretting about how we could make it work.  Aeromiles for the flights would work.  If we flew round trip to Orlando and we only had the car for 7 days, how were we going to get to the airport from Daytona Beach.  Fret, fret, fret and more fretting.   

 I took a deep breath, I had to let this go! I had two choices: 1) to forget the whole thing and count my losses ($482 Cdn) or 2) we could plan our fiftieth birthday trip around this package.  Make the best of it and see how it turns out.

 We decided that we would go for the building our birthday trip around this package.  We would be like Thelma and Louise, except we would not drive off the cliff at the end! We decided we would have a blast and we decided I would write a blog.

I want to write the blog because I think it will be a good resource for anyone else who is thinking (or gets sucked into it like me) about doing a travel deal like this and how it works (IF it works).  This is not  the first phone call I had received like this.  I have received ones offering cruises too, but this time I handed over my credit card number. What was I thinking?

When my friend told her husband, he said it sounded like a lot of “trouble”.  He said that the presentations would be very high pressured and we would end up owning half of Florida.  I did a little more fretting but then I decided that it wasn’t the presentations I was concerned about at all, it was more the planning and coordinating of the flights and everything else that went along with this trip. 

I read more of the testimonials mostly from a Complaints Board web site and oh boy EtourandTravel does not sound good.  However, I found one positive review on the Trip Advisor web site that was positive from a Canadian.  More fretting but I am still going to move forward and see what happens.